LEBARAN 2012 (1)

Having spent 3 months between “Jungle and  Sea” or in Indonesian language  “diantara HUTAN dan LAUT” we travelled from Manado to Jakarta on the 9th of  August recently. As expected,  our flight was filled for 60 % with “Mudik travellers”  (Meaning mostly from Java originating migrant workers in Manado to  fill the lack of  workforce in Manado).

After a few days in Jakarta it seems to me that even in the short period of three months that I’ve been away, Jakarta has changed. OR very well possible it is ME   who is changed.  Firstly I had to look at my (small) property at a place cal led Gunung Sindur. It is a little piece of 900 m2 that I bought in the late 1970’s, simultaneously with my colleagues, paying as little as Rp. 8.000,- each month through Grace (one of my colleagues), who did the administration.

A great surprise to me that at the entrance of the road to my property I was welcomed with a WELCOME sign as you may see on the following picture:

The entrance to the compound.
The entrance of the road to the compound.

Entering tha gate and after slowly driving on the dirt road about 400 m we arrived at the site that is supposed to be my property after checking it out with my map. It turned out that my  “kapling” from the Dutch word “kaveling”  was one of nine other kaplings that still was not sold to the Yayasan LAZUARDI. I will have to check things out.

The w e drove to my daughter in law’s house also in the south of Jakarta, the pictures I made are as follows:

"SESAME open thee", view from the gate.
“SESAME open thee”, view from the gate.

The fountain and the main building, left is the garage, temporary occupied with cartons with my belongings in it

View from the house door to the entrance
View from the house door to the entrance
View from front door to the inside of the house
View from front door to the inside of the house
View slightly to the right from the enrance
View slightly to the right from the enrance
The study room
The study room
A cosy corner
A cosy corner
The stairs
The stairs
The beautiful swimming pool
The beautiful swimming pool

I have also uploaded the full set of pictures to my FLICKR site (see as a widget on yhe right side of this blog).

To be continued on ” LEBARAN 2012 (2)”

4 thoughts on “LEBARAN 2012 (1)”

  1. Dear Lani,
    Het is altijd weer boeiend om uw berichten te lezen. Wat een mooi huis van uw dochter. Djakarta is natuurlijk volop in beweging, zoals alle grote steden. Ik was laatst terug in ‘s-Gravenhage en herkende veel plekken niet meer. In mei 2013 wil ik graag 3 nachten in Manguni verblijven. Het is heerlijk om nu al van mijn reis te dromen: eerst een paar dagen naar Kuala Lumpur en dan naar Ambon, Saparua en Ceram. Misschien kan ik nog iets zien van wat mijn voorvaderen allemaal aangericht en uitgehaald hebben. De laatste dagen zijn gereserveerd voor de Minahasa: een paar dagen op Manguni, daarna een paar dagen in het centrum van Manado en tenslotte de laatste nachten bij José op Mimpi Manis. Ik hoop ook Meity en Bode weer terug te zien. Slamat malam dari Prancis,
    Gert-Jan

Leave a Reply

